Also: Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3 and Z Flip 3: How to pre-order and get the best deal While I have enjoyed months with the first two foldables from Samsung, the Note series has also been in my hand since the Note 3 many years ago. It doesn’t look like we are going to see a new Note in 2021, which gives me even more of a reason to pull out the credit card for the Z Fold 3. Foldables are likely to increase in popularity, driven forward by the innovation, available options, and more affordable prices offered by Samsung.
Also: Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 2 review: Foldable perfection nearly achieved As I look at the new Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3, it’s clear to me there are several reasons to consider an upgrade from the Z Fold 2 from just a year ago. If you have the original Galaxy Fold, then the decision to upgrade is even easier. Here are 10 reasons to pick up the Z Fold 3:
I was honestly a bit disappointed to see the same three 12MP cameras on the back of the Z Fold 3 that we saw on the Z Fold 2. These cameras perform very well, but Samsung has more advanced cameras on the S21 Ultra and for the premium you are paying I was expecting some upgrade in the three cameras. I was at least expecting some improvement in the telephoto camera, but we’ll have to look for possible camera improvements next year.
Also: Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 2 in depth: Hinge, screens, cameras, and speakers As an engineer with machine design classes in my background, I cannot help but be fascinated with the level of engineering and craftsmanship provided by Samsung in the Z Fold 3. I have lamented selling my first two generation Fold devices in order to upgrade to other phones to write about here on ZDNet, but am planning to order that lovely Phantom Green model as soon as it is available to order and hope to not look back again and wish I had kept a Samsung foldable.