Well, while there’s no doubt that this is the laptop with the best battery life I’ve ever used, I’ve found that the more battery life I have, the more I use it. So, I still need to set up my laptop so that I get the very best possible battery life from the system. Also: 5 tech gadgets I never leave home without (and they make great gifts) Here’s what I do to my MacBook running macOS Ventura to get the best possible battery life.

There you’ll find a few options. For the longest battery life possible, I have this set to Only on Battery. This does have a small impact on performance, so if I need max power, I either connect the laptop to the power adapter, or change this setting to Never. In real terms, though, unless I’m doing something demanding like heavy Photoshop work or some video editing, I don’t notice a difference. Even with the latest version of Google Chrome – the one that has the new energy-saving features – I’m still finding that I get at least an extra hour of runtime when I switch to Safari. Also: If you use Google Chrome, you need to install this now And it’s not just Safari. Apple apps offer far better energy efficiency – and, as a result, longer battery life – than third-party apps. My favorite is the Anker 737.